Yu chang kueh

20130716-200032.jpg

Exams are finally over, I’m no longer sick (knock on wood) and I finally have the kitchen to myself. Sadly the oven has died again!!! 😦 so no baking. So to celebrate my no longer sick holidays I  decided to do a very old quick and simple dish that my grandma used to always make for me when I was a kid, I remember it distinctly as I didn’t like fried shallots as a kid, so all I had was rice cake with sauce, and my brother aptly named the dish Yu chang keuh without the Yu chang! (Yu chang is the fried shallots and the kueh is the rice cake).  It’s quick, extremely simple and mmm delicious!

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cooking time 20 minutes

Ingredients:

for the rice cake

  • 1 cup rice flour
  • 1, 1/2 cups water

for the sauce

  • 1/2 cup boiling water
  • 8-10 teaspoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons dark soy sauce

For the garnish 

  • 10 shallots, thinly sliced and deep fried (around 1 per plate)

Method:

to make the rice cake

  1. Fill half a wok with water, place steamer on top and pie dish. Cover with lid and allow to boil. (you place the pie dish in as well so it reaches a warm temperature.
  2. Mix the rice flour and water in a bowl, once well combined, scoop around half – two thirds a cup of the batter into the dish or until its around 1 cm thickness, recover with the lid.
  3. allow to cook for around 5-8 minutes, it’s done when a pricked with a fork and the batter doesn’t stick to the fork.
  4. Remove from the steamer and scatter the fried shallots on top.

To make the sauce

  1. Mix the water, soy sauce, and sugar in a small bowl. Taste till there is a good balance between the sweet and salty, adjusting by adding more sugar and soy sauce as needed.
  2. Drizzle the sauce on top and enjoy 🙂

20130716-204932.jpg

Leave a Reply

