Icecream sandwiches

I can’t freaking believe it, my hand mixer just broke AGAIN. I’m back in Perth for uni and I managed to break my hand mixer in Perth, right in the middle of making these sandwiches. Ridiculous! Now I have to cut the flour into the mixture instead!!!!!

…………………………….3o mins later………………………..

Ow my hand hurts! I hate mixing by hand it takes double the time and my hand hurts because it was such thick dough by the end. I’m making these to procrastinate, I just finished my ten page FCP outcomes (we were short people so I ended up with double the amount of outcomes 😦 )

Anyway this is the perfect recipe for anyone who doesn’t have an ice-cream machine. For anyone who has tried before it is a b**** and I don’t recommend it, you literally have to make the mixture, stick it in the freezer, and stir like every hour so it doesn’t form icy chunks. This recipe is brilliant as you want it to form a hard slab anyway, so NO evil ice-cream mixture that requires you to babysit it like a 5 year old!- Actually I think a five year old is easier to handle! All you do is mix the cream/condense milk mixture and just freeze it, no hourly stirrings until 3am when you’re dead tired and about to throw the ice-cream bowl into the wall cause you want to sleep. Anyway before I get carried away with my ranting here’s the recipe.

Prep time: 1 day (this is because the dough needs to chill for at least 4 hours, and the mixture has to freeze overnight)

Cooking time: 10mins

Ingredients:

For the biscuit

  • 150g butter (cubed at room temperature)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cocoa
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla essence
  • 1 1/4 cup plain flour

– if you’re short for time you can do the cheat method and buy packaged malt biscuits which work perfectly!

for the filling

  • 250ml condense milk
  • 600ml whipping cream
  • 300gm crunchy bars (or what ever chocolate you prefer)

Method:

  1. mix the butter and sugar until creamy.
  2. Add the cocoa slowly while mixing slowly, then add in the egg and vanilla essence and mix.
  3. add the plain flour to the mixture and mix until just combined.
  4. place dough in cling wrap and and refrigerate for at least 4 hours
  5. Remove from fridge and roll to 5 mm thickness, cut out shapes, and bake for 10 mins
  6. Whip the cream, then fold in the condense milk
  7. crush the crunchie bars with a rolling pin and mix into the mixture with a spoon
  8. Lay the biscuits out in a tray and pour the mixture over the top them cover with remaining biscuits.
  9. Freeze! overnight
  10. remove, cut into slices – or the shape of your cookies, and serve 🙂

nb: if you do the shape that I did in the picture above freeze the ice-cream in the tray without  the biscuits, then use the cookie cutter to cut out the ice-cream and place the biscuits on the ice-cream slice

2 thoughts on “Icecream sandwiches

Leave a Reply

