Banana Foster Pancakes

mmm I just love breakfast for dinner, I know I keep saying it really is the best meal of the day. Now uni has started up again I don’t have enough time in the morning to make my favourite breakfast dishes so I figure why not make them for dinner instead!! I managed to catch up with a uni friend when I made these -(and forced her to subscribe to my blog!!!) so if you do ever read this COMMENT!!! If not, then I know you never read it, in which case I’ll unlike all the youtube videos of yours that you made me subscribe to!!! ( just kidding, I’m not that mean….ish sometimes..well…I better stop before I can’t get out of the very deep hole I’m digging myself into!)

I decided to make this on friday as I figured after one week of uni I needed an insane amount of sugar to keep me bouncing around and motivated to study. It did manage to keep me energetic… the studying part not so much! I guess that’s the thing about weekends, you keep thinking that you have enough time to do everything the next day. Anyway I also tried using the dish washer for the first time, and geez I am not good with technology, I ended up having to google the instruction manual to figure out all the weird button, then I spent three different cycles trying to get the water to turn on- for some reason it just wouldn’t run. Anyway it’s still going now and I have no idea if its washed anything yet, how ridiculous, it really is easier to hand wash!

Prep time:20 mins

Cooking time: 30 mins ( but it really depends on the size and number of pans that you have, I could only cook like 3 small pancakes at once so it took forever!)

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 4 heaping teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2 egg whites
  • 2 cups milk (I used lactose free milk and it worked perfectly!)
  • 3 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup olive or vegetable oil
  • 2-3 bananas, sliced thinly
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter

Method:

  1. In a large bowl mix together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt
  2. It a separate bowl whisk together the egg yolks, milk, vanilla extract and oil
  3. In another bowl, whisk the egg whites until it forms a light foamy mixture, and then fold it into the egg yolk mixture
  4. Whisk the wet mixture into the dry mixture
  5. In a small pan melt the butter and brown sugar together (if you have any rum or whisky add a splash as well), try to get the mixture thin enough to brush or easily drizzle onto the pancakes by adding more butter or brown sugar.
  6. Place a flat frying pan (preferably non stick) over medium heat and add a little oil, using a spatula spread the oil out and coat the pan evenly
  7. place a small scoop of the batter on the pan and then wait for it to slightly bubble, then add the banana pieces on top and use a brush to cover the bananas with the brown sugar mixture. now flip the pancake over.
  8. Remove from heat and place in a warm oven until you’re about to eat (as they cool down very quickly) make sure the tray that you place them on is warm as well
  9. Repeat with remaining batter and enjoy!!

3 thoughts on “Banana Foster Pancakes

Leave a Reply

