Beef and Guinness Pie

Nooooooooooooooo!!!! Uni’s back on again 😦 🙂 ?? On one hand its great I love learning and seeing all my friends again…..but…. I’m gonna miss sleep. I can’t believe that the holidays managed to go pass so quickly, I want to go back to sleep! I’m writing this right before by lab class hoping it’ll wake me up. I forgot to say as well that after 3 weeks of lessons I can now drive a manual car!!!!!! I passed my test on friday so now I can drive. Yay yay yay!! Yay yay yay!! -in case you can’t tell I’m very very happy, I’m not exactly the most coordinated person in the world ( that is me being extremely understated- seriously I fall down the stairs in my house like twice a month!) so I can’t believe I passed. After, I even drove my dad (like 3 km only!) for the first time, unfortunately he spent the time gripping his seat so tightly I’m shocked his hand still works, and he hasn’t let me drive with him since, but hey it’s a start!

Anyway I made this pie last week back at home, and didn’t get around to posting it. So instead of writing out my outcomes for my portfolio I decided to write this up instead!! Hope you enjoy 🙂

Prep time: 30 mins

Cooking time: 3 hours

Ingredients:

For the pastry

  • 2 1/2 cups plain flour
  • 160 g cubed cold  unsalted butter
  • 4-6 tablespoons chilled water
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

For the filling

  • 6 tablespoons olive oil
  • 900g beef, trimmed and diced ( use something like chuck  or gravy beef cuts as its going to stew for a long time)
  • 2 brown onions, finely diced
  • 2 carrots chopped
  • 2 celery stalks chopped
  • 2 tablespoons plain flour
  • 1 tablespoon thyme
  • 2 cups guinness
  • 400g diced tomatoes
  • salt and black pepper to season
  • 1 egg lightly beaten

 

Method:

To make the pastry

  1. mix together the flour, butter and salt in a food processor until it resembles bread crumbs (if you do not have one like me, just use a knife and cut the mixture together)
  2. Add 2 tablespoons water and mix again until the pastry comes together, add more water if required.
  3. Transfer pastry to a lightly floured bench top and knead until smooth
  4. wrap in glad wrap and refrigerate until needed

To make the filling

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees celsius
  2. add two teaspoons of oil to a hot pan and fry the beef until the outsides are brown (make sure beef is dry or it won’t brown). Remove from pan and set aside.
  3. reduce the heat to medium and add the remaining oil, sauté the onions for 3-5 mins then add the carrots and celery and cook for 2 minutes.
  4. Re add the meat then sprinkle the flour over the top of the mixture and continue stirring
  5. Add thyme, guinness, tomato and add salt and pepper to season.
  6. Bring to the boil then reduce heat and allow to simmer for 30 mins. Place in oven for 1.5 hours. Remove from oven and place back on stove and simmer for 30 mins (or until mixture has become thicker). Remove from heat and allow to cool (it doesn’t have to completely cool, it just has to be cool enough that it doesn’t cause the pastry to dissolve! I usually just wait till it is warm)
  7. Roll out pastry and cover pie dish, add the filling then cover with remaining pastry. Cut a cross in the top to let out steam then transfer back to the oven for 20-30 mins, or until the pastry is golden brown.
Leave a Reply

