Vanilla Creme Brûlée

I finally got my wish and am now in possession of my very own Chef’s blowtorch!!! Yay! I’ve been nagging for a while but my accident prone status kind of stopped  me from acquiring one. I figure what better way to celebrate than to make creme brûlée. The delicious custard and caramelised sugar at the top is perfect for a wintery day like today. I even decided to top it off with a three course meal for the fam, with a walnut, salmon and avocado salad entree, and fettuccine carbonara mains.

…5 hours later….

……….ok I might have been a tad bit too ambitious, unfortunately the blow torch was a bit difficult to light, by the time I did finally figure it out and get it to work I had unknowingly managed to drip butane into one of the creme brûlées. Poor dad, my first shot at making creme brûlée with a blow torch and I nearly end up poisoning him 😦 I should have just stuck with the grill! Anyway I tried it again the next day and it worked like a charm, dad was even game enough to try it again- though he did take a very small first bite! So here it is in all its glory 😛

Prep time: 15 mins

Cooking time: 45-60 mins depending on your oven and ramekin size

Waiting time: 4 hours (at least!) (it’s honestly best to do it overnight)

Ingredients

  • 300ml thickened cream (I actually use a lactose free cream as I’m lactose intolerant, and it also works really well)
  • 200ml milk
  • 1 vanilla pod
  • 100g egg yolks (approx 5 egg yolks)
  • 70g caster sugar
  • 30g caster sugar (for the top)

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 130 degrees Celsius
  2. mix the vanilla pod(scraped and add the beans) the cream and milk over a medium flame and allow to simmer but not boil. Remove from heat and leave for 5 mins, and strain to remove the pods. If there is a thin film on top ,scrape of with a spoon.
  3. in a separate bowl add the egg yolks and caster sugar and whisk together immediately (or it will curdle).
  4. Add the creme mixture to the yolk mixture, while concurrently beating. Remove the bubbles created by whisking with a spoon.
  5. Pour into 4 ramekins so that each ramekin is 3/4 full
  6. Cook bain marie (i.e. place ramekins in a tray and fill with boiling water so each ramekin is 3/4 covered) for 60 mins or until set, to check if it is set remove from tray and tilt side to side, if it does not jiggle then it is done.
  7. Remove from oven and allow to cool to room temperature. Then place in fridge and refrigerate for a minimum of 4 hours and up to 24 hours.
  8. when about to eat remove from oven and add a very fine layer of caster sugar, use the blow torch to caramelise. If you do not have one place under the grill until caramelised. mmmenjoy!
Leave a Reply

