Pancakes!!!!!!!!

I love breakfast! It is by far my most favourite meal of the day, so much so that I love having breakfast for dinner, I know weird! but its holidays- who wakes up early on holidays 😛 Anyways I love this recipe for pancakes if you do it right its got just the right thickness, and the perfect height. However if you’re like me and forget to bring a frying pan back with you to your home, you’ll end up with the pancakes in the photo! I better explain, I rent a place in Perth for uni- and so I brought all my cooking stuff up there to use. It’s break now so I’m back in the country sans the majority of my cooking gear, so instead of pancakes in a frying pan, I used a wok!

Also I’ve got to add, I suck at driving, I’ve got two weeks to learn how to drive a manual before my test, and seriously why do we need to learn how to park, I figure I’ll just keep on going and never stop! Plus what is with the big seats, I’m short, but like average short not dwarfism short, regardless no matter how close I put the chair I still have to stretch to get the clutch in the whole way, I feel like I need wooden blocks on the end of my shoes so I can reach the clutch! Anyway enough of my ranting, try making these pancakes they are the greatest comfort food for a frustrating day, and don’t forget the mmm when you eat!

Pancakes!!!!!!!!!!!

Cooking time: 30 mins

Makes: 5 pancakes

All the Ingredients I used -sans the milk

Ingredients

  • 1 cups plain flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg yolks
  • 1 egg whites
  • 1 cups milk
  • 1.5 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/8 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
Method
  1. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a bowl
  2. In another bowl whisk together the egg yolks, oil, lemon zest, vanilla, and milk
  3. in another bowl whisk the egg white till foamy (but not to the point where soft peaks form) then fold into the e.g. yolk mixture
  4. Whisk the wet mixture into the dry mixture quickly until just combined.
  5. add oil to a frying pan (just enough that it coats but doesn’t run) and when hot spoon around 1/4 of a cup of the batter (usually one scoop) into the pan. Flip when ready (usually 20- 30 seconds depending on how hot the pan is) and then serve with butter and maple syrup

Step 2: Egg yolk mixture

Step 3 : Egg whites

Leave a Reply

