Elaia Cafe -Review

20121201-205926.jpg

Rating 3.0 / 5.0 stars

Rating 3.0 / 5.0 stars

mmm Seafood linguine. I’ve been having an amazing time in Tassie, enjoying the sights and getting my fair share of exercise! In case you’ve never been to Launceston Tasmania let me tell you that it is extremely, incredibly, implorably hilly. I decided to visit Cataract Gorge today and idiotically decided to follow the path of google maps….. not the smartest idea in the world. I first thought I should take an alternate path through the main city first then loop around but thought ‘hey google maps should know its stuff more then me right? I’ll definitely be there in 21 minutes if I follow it”. I’m an idiot. It took me an hour. See the unfortunate thing was the path was ALL uphill!!! By the time I got there I was so ready to jump in (but of course I didn’t bring bathers cause 20degrees didn’t seem hot enough- again dumb mood). This was definitely not a good day intellectually, the good part was it only took me 20 minutes to get back as it was a lll downhill :P

All in all though it was a fantastic day, I got to check out several of their trails – including my old favourite the zig zag steps :) I really think I’m five years old as I still love running up and down steps, and these were just plain awesome! Got to eat an ice-cream perched on the edge of a track over looking the fantastic scenery, and even took a nap under the shade of a tree. I haven’t felt this relaxed in ages. This is the perfect reprieve from exams.

I start work tomorrow and I’ve been enjoying trying out the food from the local cafes and restaurants, and one amazing one was the Seafood linguine at Elaia cafe in Launceston. It was great the only thing missing was some bread to dunk in the remaining sauce! The broth was tasty, the seafood cooked nicely and generously provided, and of course the mussels were perfect. I’ve got to say Tassie’s definitely know their seafood :) I wish I could’ve tasted more dishes but alas I’m only by myself  :P so this review is only based on one dish, but hopefully everything is just as delicious, or better. Please let me know what you think if you’re ever in the area and have a chance to try it :)

Elaia on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

